Sunday Reflections

This has been the longest week ever, I think. Usually when I sit down to write these, I think, “It’s already Sunday?” Not this week. Part of that has to do with the absolutely oppressive heat we have been experiencing. The expression “moving like molasses” crosses my mind. I know, I know – there are places hotter than San Diego. We are spoiled. But it’s September and it’s in the 90s and it’s really not the heat, IT’S THE HUMIDITY. Thankfully the worst of it has passed.

Unfortunately, I spent most of this loooooong and sticky week in a bungalow with no air-conditioning with 62 not-impressed teenagers. Toddlers are so easy to please and entertain that it has been a huge culture shock to return to the full time song and dance of teaching high school. I spent most of last year out on leave (that’s another blog post entirely) and while I taught summer school, this is my real return to the workforce. I am lucky to have a husband who is home during the day, and he is lucky to have a wife who is home at night, and we are both lucky that we get to spend time with our gorgeous children and not pay any money for daycare. But it is EXHAUSTING. And we are already noticing that it is harder to communicate as we spend hours and hours away from each other. Most days, the only time we spend together is from midnight to 5am, asleep in the same bed.

It’s not all bad, though – he can spend their nap time gaming or watching TV; I get evenings after the boys are asleep to stalk near-strangers on Facebook and write these blogs. Last night we had “date night” after he got home from work – a drink, a movie, and a chocolate eclair. Doesn’t get much better than that.

I’ve noticed that while I miss the boys during the day, I feel like I am more appreciative of them in the evenings. They change so much each day and I’m really able to see those differences and enjoy them. This week, Sawyer has decided he loves the glider. He wants to sit in it alone and rock to his heart’s content. He’ll read himself a book or bounce up and down- but he does not want to share the chair with anyone.
sawyerchair

Greyson is a pro walker – but he still stops frequently to investigate the world around him. I’ve seen some kids take off running – not him. He may speed up, but then he will slow to a stop to investigate something new.
Greysondandelion

Sawyer will happily listen to music for as long as you’ll let him – this week, Grandpa introduced him to the Stones and he was in heaven. He will frequently walk over to “Pa” to demand “DIS!” (the beloved iPhone.) Greyson’s new thing is to offer a trade. If you have something he wants, he will bring you a different treasure in exchange. The other day, he brought me an empty cup and then attempted to snatch my XL Diet Coke. Nice try, sweetie. Mommy needs caffeine. And on that note, I hear a stirring over the monitor. Happy Sunday!

boyscoloring